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West Virginia State Tax Department TSD433

TAXES ON BOXING AND MIXED MARTIAL ARTS EVENTS
REGULATED BY THE STATE ATHLETIC COMMISSION

The purpose of this publication is to provide guidance on West Virginia tax law as it relates to ring sports events. This publication is

meant to be a source of general information and not a substitute for tax laws or regulations.

AUTHORITY OF THE COMMISSION

The State Athletic Commission (formerly the State Boxing
Commission) consists of five members appointed by the Governor.
The Commission has regulatory authority over all professional and
amateur boxing, sparring and mixed martial arts contests, matches and
exhibitions in West Virginia, except amateur matches conducted by any
high school, college or university.

LICENSE FEES

The Athletic Commission imposes various license fees on promoters
and participants in the events it regulates. For information and
application  forms, visit the Commission’s website at
athleticcommission.wv.gov,

REPORTS

Each promoter of a boxing match or mixed martial arts contest in West
Virginia must file a report with the Athletic Commission within 24 hours
after the event is held. See the Athletic Commission website for
information and forms.

TAXES:

BUSINESS REGISTRATION All promoters of athletic events in West
Virginia must have a West Virginia business registration certificate. To
register a business with the Tax Department, the promoter must
complete an “Application for Registration Certificate” (Form WV/BUS
APP, which is available on Tax's website at www.tax.wv.qov and pay
a $30.00 registration fee. A copy of the business registration certificate
must be posted at the site of each event.

Professional athletes are considered independent businesses and
must also obtain a West Virginia business registration certificate,
unless they are considered employees of a sports team or another
business entity, such as a loan-out company. In that case, the
employing business entity must be registered to do business in West
Virginia.

CONSUMERS SALES AND SERVICE TAX AND USE TAX

For sales and service tax purposes, boxing matches and mixed martial
arts contests are considered amusement or entertainment services.
Unless otherwise exempted, all sales of tangible personal property,
amusement services and other services rendered in the operation of a
place of amusement or entertainment are subject to the Consumers
Sales and Service Tax. The promoter or operator of the place of
amusement or entertainment must collect and remit tax. The
responsibility of remitting the sales tax should be set forth in the
contract between the promoter and the facility management. Taxable
sales include admission tickets, as well as sales of concessions,
programs, souvenirs and novelties by the promoter or operator of the
facility.

Complimentary tickets or tangible personal property given away for
promotional purposes are subject to the Use Tax, which is imposed at
the same rate as the Consumers Sales and Service Tax. In the case of
complimentary tickets, the amount subject to the tax is the sales price of
the ticket -- the amount for which a similar ticket would have been sold.
In the case of tangible goods, the amount subject to the Use tax is the
cost of the goods to the promoter or operator. In addition to the State

Consumers Sales and Service Tax, many West Virginia municipalities
impose a Municipal Sales and Use Tax that applies to the same sales
of tangible items and services subject to the State tax. Any applicable
Municipal Sales tax must be remitted to the State Tax Department along
with State sales tax. If a contest is held in a municipality, that
municipality’s sales and use tax must be remitted together with the State
sales tax.

EXAMPLE

Boxing Unlimited is the promoter of a boxing match in Clarksburg, West
Virginia. It sells 350 tickets to the event at $10 a ticket and provides fifty
complimentary tickets to various people. $1,500 worth of concessions
and $1,000 of t-shirts and other memorabilia are sold to attendees of the
event, and the promoter also gives away t-shirts and other memorabilia
that he paid $200 to purchase. The promotor must collect and remit
$469 in sales tax to the State of West Virginia on Form CSTWV 200CU.
The $469 in sales tax is calculated as follows:

Sale of tickets (350x%$10) $3500

Complimentary tickets (50x$10) $500

Sale of concessions (Money from sales) $1500

Sale of t-shirts and other (Money from sales) $1000
Memorabilia

Complimentary t-shirts and (Cost of goods) $200
Memorabilia

CALCULATION OF TOTAL | ($3500+$500+$1500+
TAX DUE $1000+$200) = $6700
$6700x 7%* $469

*7% consists of 6% state sales tax and 1% municipal sales
tax for the city of Clarksburg

OTHER LOCAL TAXES

Municipalities may not impose a local license tax on events licensed by
the State Athletic Commission. However, a municipality may have a
Business and Occupation Tax that applies to the gross income from
such events. Also, municipalities may impose an Amusement Tax on
admissions fees charged the public. The State Tax Department does
not administer these local taxes and the promoter should contact local
tax authorities to ascertain what local taxes may apply to the event.

PERSONAL INCOME TAX

For purposes of West Virginia Personal Income Tax, prize money and
reimbursed expenses generated from activity in this State are
considered income from West Virginia sources, and therefore subject
to this State's personal income tax to the extent includible in federal
adjusted gross income. Any fees paid to a participant are subject to
personal income tax. The promoter is also subject to West Virginia
personal income tax.

For assistance or additional information, you may call a Taxpayer
Service Representative at:

1-800-WVA-TAXS (1-800-982-8297)

www.tax.wv.gov



